The Homes by J. B. Mylet – Blog Tour Review

Title: The Homes

Author: J. B. Mylet

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Publisher: Viper

Publication Date: 26th May 2022

Rating: 4.5/5

Cover:

Summary:

There were good people in The Homes. But there were also some very, very bad ones…

A thousand unwanted children live in The Homes, a village of orphans in the Scottish Lowlands on the outskirts of Glasgow. Lesley was six before she learned that most children live with their parents. Now Lesley is twelve, and she and her best friend Jonesy live in Cottage 5, Jonesy the irrepressible spirit to Lesley’s quiet thoughtfulness.

Life is often cruel at The Homes, and suddenly it becomes much crueller. A child is found murdered. Then another. With the police unable to catch the killer, Lesley and Jonesy decide to take the matter into their own hands. But unwanted children are easy victims, and they are both in terrible danger…

Inspired by a true story, and introducing readers to the unforgettable voice of young orphan Lesley, The Homes is a moving and lyrical thriller, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Chris Whitaker, Jane Casey and Denise Mina.

Review:

Despite being Scottish myself I was really stunned to learn that there used to be essentially a whole village of orphaned or unwanted children living in a community on the outskirts of Glasgow. The Homes is inspired by this true story and follows 12 year old Lesley, an incredibly clever yet uncertain girl and her best friend Jonesy, full of vigour and nonstop chatter. They live in one of the cottages at the homes along with other girls and their ‘house parents’. It is a pretty brutal place to grow up at times but there is also true friendship and some kindness. However things take a very dark turn when children start being found murdered and Lesley and Jonesy launch an investigation of their own to find the culprit.

This was such a heart wrenching read for so many reasons and its real power is in its narrator, Lesley. She is so bright and naturally inquisitive but she is also extremely vulnerable in many ways. Her youth makes her unaware of some of the complexities of life and the terrible darkness some people are sadly capable of. This makes it impossible not to feel for her as she grapples with the trauma that comes with growing up in a place like The Homes and to root for her to be able to make a good life for herself despite the tough and unfair hand life has dealt her. The Homes is a powerfully moving and deeply emotional novel that I won’t forget in a hurry.

✶✶✶✶.5

Thank you to Rosie at Viper Books for the blog tour invite and the lovely proof copy. My review is entirely my own honest opinion.

Buy the book:

Waterstones | Blackwell’s | Amazon

2 thoughts on “The Homes by J. B. Mylet – Blog Tour Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s