Hope to Die by Cara Hunter – Blog/Bookstagram Tour Review

Title: Hope to Die

Author: Cara Hunter

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: Penguin

Publication Date: 18th August 2022

Rating: 5/5

Cover:

Summary:

It looks like a burglary gone wrong, but DI Adam Fawley suspects there’s something more to it.

When the police discover a connection to a high-profile case from years ago, involving a child’s murder and an alleged miscarriage of justice, the press go wild.

Suddenly Fawley’s team are under more scrutiny than ever before. And when you dig up the past, you’re sure to find a few skeletons…

The sixth twisty, up-all-night thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling Cara Hunter. For fans of Shari Lapena, Claire Douglas and Lisa Jewell.

Review:

I’ve been hearing such good things about this crime series for a while now and I’ve been keen to jump in so I was thrilled at the chance to read Hope to Die, the sixth instalment in the DI Adam Fawley series. First off, I must say I haven’t read the previous books in the series (although I have now bought them all and will be working my way through them) but that in no way hampered my enjoyment of this fantastic book. Hunter even, extremely helpfully, includes an quick introduction to the members of Fawley’s team to bring you up to speed which I loved!

Another aspect of Hope to Die that I loved is the way Hunter used multimedia to tell the story. There were interview transcripts, letters, voicemails, Netflix true crime documentaries and newspaper articles which made the entire reading experience incredibly immersive and exciting. The case at the centre of this police procedural is satisfyingly complex and consistently surprising but also carries real emotional weight. There really is nothing I could say that is not overwhelmingly positive and I am so pleased that I now have five other surely brilliant books to catch up on. Hope to Die is the perfect police procedural – smart, propulsive, masterfully plotted and deeply compelling. A very easy five stars from me!

✶✶✶✶✶

I kindly received a copy of the book from the publisher. My review is entirely my own honest opinion.

Buy the book:

Waterstones | Blackwell’s | Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s