Homecoming by Isabel Ashdown – Blog Tour Review

Title: Homecoming

Author: Isabel Ashdown

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Publisher: Orion

Publication Date: 24th November 2022 (ebook)

Rating: 4/5

Cover:

Summary:

Welcome to The Starlings… sun, sea and neighbours to die for.

Security, a sparkling sea view and the best kind of neighbours – The Starlings gated community has it all. Here, doors are left open, children run free, and at the heart of it all is the entrepreneurial Gold Family, who first dreamed up this aspirational vision of ‘Dorset’s Safest Community’. To the outside world the popular family appears glitteringly blessed… until an idyllic party takes a dark turn and one of their number is found slumped at the foot of the clocktower. Who knows what really happened? And what answers are harboured within the old building, the former Highcap Mother and Baby Home?’

A mesmerising, character-rich thriller with a long-buried secret vibrating at its core: this is Isabel Ashdown at her heart-stopping best, for readers who enjoyed Big Little Lies, Dr Foster or Little Fires Everywhere.

Review:

Homecoming revolves around a supposedly idyllic luxury gated community and the people who live within it. As you may suspect, The Starlings is not the idealistic and safe utopia it purports itself to be and the residents soon find themselves at the centre of a police investigation when someone is found at the foot of the clock tower. This slow burn mystery held my interest throughout, in large part due to the intriguing (if not always particularly likeable) characters and I was keen to know how the setting was connected to it all. The secrets and lies of these various people are slowly unraveled with some unexpected and compelling twists thrown in. Overall, Homecoming is an engrossing and character-driven story that I would recommend!

✶✶✶✶✩

Thank you to Tracy Fenton for organising and having me as part of this tour. I kindly received a copy of the book from the publisher. My review is entirely my own honest opinion.

Buy the book:

Amazon | Waterstones | Blackwell’s

One thought on “Homecoming by Isabel Ashdown – Blog Tour Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s