The Hiker by M. J. Ford – Book Review

Title: The Hiker

Author: M. J. Ford

Genre: Crime/Thriller

Publisher: Avon

Publication Date: 10th November 2022

Rating: 4.5/5

Cover:

Book Summary:

In the wilderness, it’s kill or be killed…

MISSING
When Gemma Kline is reported missing after setting off on a solo hike in the remote Pennines, her sister, Sarah, is dumbfounded. How can someone disappear without a trace?

PRESUMED
Travelling to the isolated town where Gemma was last seen, Sarah discovers it’s not the first time a young woman has vanished from the hills in mysterious circumstances. As she digs deeper, it quickly becomes apparent that neither disappearance is what it first seems – especially when unwelcoming locals share chilling tales about what’s really lurking on the moors…

MURDERED
Whatever has happened to her sister, one thing is clear: this town has secrets someone would kill to keep. But even on the fells, nothing stays buried forever…

A gripping and atmospheric crime thriller set in one of the most remote corners of the British wilderness, perfect for fans of Chris Hammer, Jane Harper and Michael Connelly.

Review:

The Hiker follows Sarah Kline, a young woman about to be married, who gets a visit from the police the week before her wedding. Her estranged sister Gemma has been reported missing after apparently setting off on a solo hike in the dangerous and remote Pennines. Although she and her sister have a difficult relationship, Sarah journeys to the tiny town that her sister disappeared from to try and find out the truth about what happened to her. She finds herself faced with a cast of complicated characters, a mysterious history and strange rumours about what is prowling around the moors.

I found myself totally gripped by The Hiker from beginning to end. I love books with a slightly spooky and intense setting especially when there is a historical mystery at play, adding to the tension. The narrative is split between Sarah’s search for her sister and Gemma’s tale of events until eventually the two strands connect expertly. The pacing is perfect. Slow enough to paint a full picture of these characters but fast enough to keep the reader on their toes. I found both Sarah and Gemma compelling whilst the insular community of Hartsbridge is immediately intriguing with just the right amount of oddity. Unnerving, tense and full of twists and red herrings, I’d highly recommend The Hiker to those who enjoy an atmospheric thriller!

✶✶✶✶.5

Thank you to Avon for sending me a copy of the book. My review is entirely my own honest opinion.

Buy the book:

Waterstones | Blackwell’s | Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s