Twist of Fate by D. L. Mark – Blog Tour Review

Title: Twist of Fate

Author: D. L. Mark

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Publisher: Head of Zeus

Publication Date: 2nd March 2023

Rating: 3.5/5

Cover:

Summary:

When an armed man massacres several people in central London, Claudine witnesses the whole thing. To her horror, one of the victims is her brother, Jethro.

Riven by grief, Claudine retreats to the house in the Fens where she and Jethro grew up. When the police contact her, she is left reeling when they tell her Jethro orchestrated the attack.

Why would a gentle, if troubled, middle-aged man cause such bloodshed – and why would he include himself in the list of victims?

Claudine finds herself down a rabbit hole of mystery, caught up in Jethro’s research on a medieval cult. If she can’t solve the riddle in time, more people will die… and the darkness will claim her too.

This twisty, unrelenting thriller is perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Emma Kavanagh, and Sharon Bolton, using themes of grief to explore how people are never as straightforward as they seem.

Review:

I’m going to start off by saying that the opening to Twist of Fate is seriously atmospheric and seriously creepy. It definitely sets the stage for the wild and scary sequence of events to come. The story involves all sorts of themes such as grief, loss, religious fervour, dark thoughts and mystery.

I’m a little bit torn on this one to be honest. On the one hand I loved the tension-filled atmosphere and the unnerving feeling that kicks in right at the start but at times I felt things got a little confusing and the language sometimes went too far in terms of melodrama. However, it is certainly a gripping and unusual read and whilst not one hundred percent my cup of tea – I still enjoyed it and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to others. It’s a strange little book filled with gothic spookiness and an insight into religious fanaticism and mental health. Definitely worth a read if the story appeals to you!

✶✶✶.5

Thank you so much to Anne Cater of Random Things Blog Tours for inviting me on this tour and organising it. I kindly received a copy of the book from the publisher. My review is entirely my own honest opinion.

Buy the book:

Waterstones | Blackwell’s | Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s